Watson Henchkins, Part Two

This is Part Two from my previous post.  Go read my previous post before reading this…if you dare!

– Wooo.  OK.  Let’s take a step back here to regroup.  I’m sorry about all this.

First, let me try to rationalize my story so far.  Before I do, let me just say – it’s reeeeally hard to go from ‘game context’ to ‘it makes sense to make up this terrible story for a created character in order to make his/her redemption that much greater.’

I could say I was trying to make a creative, honest, real-world redemption story in order to raise the stakes of my character’s achievements in an environment that is restricted to denying reality as its most base physical nature.

The real reason I made Watson Henchkins go through this is because, in Tiger Woods 12, the character you create goes in a few short months from merely qualifying for the PGA Tour and winning web.com tour events to winning The Masters.  It’s an unrealistic timeline, unless you have a person who is extraordinary and who had to re-build themselves from their psychic and physical bottom.

I didn’t want to make him a bad guy either, so I had to make his story as high-stakes and, most importantly, as sympathetic as possible.

With that being said:

 

Three years had passed since Watson’s father and brother passed away in their tragic car crash.  Watson had spent the years after his multiple surgeries in intensive rehab, and making incredible strides.

When he began the doctors said it would be a miracle if he ever walked normally again:  he was walking unassisted in three months.  They told him he’d never play golf the same way he used to ever gain:  he shot a 72 at his home course a year removed from the accident.  They said he’d never play professional golf.

It is noteworthy to say right here that, when the crash happened, it was national news.  It was grand tragedy, the likes with which the country was ill-equipped to handle well.  No one enjoyed hearing the news about this young, hard-working, lovable phenom and his inseparable family being torn apart the way it was, but for days and weeks after the accident it was headline news.  National news.

Then suddenly, when the doctors said the boy would never play professional golf and the rehab began, the headlines stopped.  No news, save for perhaps small updates on his rehab every few months at the bottom of a few hours.  The country mourned his loss, and forgot about him.

Until he won a few tournaments on the web.com tour, the minor leagues of the PGA Tour.  Three years removed from losing everything he cared most dearly about and being told he’d have difficulty even walking the rest of his life, Watson Henchkins won a professional golf event.

The country started to take notice.  What a wonderful human interest story!  He achieved more than anyone had ever expected after what he went through, and the news was positive for him again.  Everyone was satisfied with this impossible achievement.

Until he tried to qualify for the PGA Tour.  Yes, young Watson Henchkins, only 21 years old and a mere few years removed from all that had happened to him, was trying to earn his PGA Tour card.  The news covered it front and center, but the country tried not to pay attention.  This was too nerve-racking.  It was one thing to hear about this young man winning – it was the opposite to watch him live, knowing his story, not knowing the outcome, and seeing him fail, which was the great probable outcome.

(Another quick note:  had to make the player come back from some injury or something like that because in the game you build your created player from the low attributes the game starts you with.  I know, I know – why did I have to do it like this, but…let’s get back into it.)

Watson Henchkins qualified first, and earned his PGA Tour card.  He became THE story of the PGA Tour that year.

 

–   I’m sorry, but I’m going to end this story here abruptly.  I believe we can all understand how the rest of it will go, and it ends happily.  I guess I was just trying to examine how this process happens in my head.  I had even more details:  details about the crash, his family, etc., but I wanted to keep this brief enough to see my point and to put it on something.  That is all.

I’m sorry to end so abruptly!  But it’s a blog, not a short story site.

So make up the rest of the story for yourself!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

